Author Archives: DerSchmitz

About DerSchmitz

Senior Consultant and Blogger from the beautiful Constance on Lake Constance. When I'm not in the middle of a data center, I advise clients in the IT infrastructure space. This includes storage, server, backup and cloud integration in IT infrastructures. In my free time I take care of my own garden where I grow my own fruit and vegetables.

NetApp INSIGHT: Straight to your screen

By | 17. April 2020

Hello together, next Thursday, April 23, NetApp will kick-off a digital event designed to bring all that you love about INSIGHT right to your home office, kitchen table, or favorite sofa. Registration is free for everyone, so sign up today! As a member of the NetApp A-Team, I had the opportunity to get a peak at… Read More »

Ransomware protection for files with NetApp and CryptoSpike

By | 24. January 2020

Hello together, Again and again, there are reports in the press that companies or authorities are infested with ransomware or are being blackmailed by encryption Trojans. In many cases, however, ransomware attacks remain under lock and key to avoid the company’s image loss. Companies or authorities that rely on a “normal” backup strategy (once in… Read More »

NetApp INSIGHT 2019 Las Vegas News: What´s New in ONTAP 9.7

By | 29. October 2019

Hi and hello, live from NetApp INSIGHT 2019 in Las Vegas. Today, NetApp revealed some interesting information about its new ONTAP 9.7 data management software. User Interface Improvements First of all, a new cleaner UI design. Some of the improvements we could already see in ONTAP 9.6 as a preview. Now it seems to be… Read More »

NetApp INSIGHT 2019 Las Vegas News: Introducing the NetApp AFF A400 Storage System

By | 29. October 2019

Today I am reporting live to you from NetApp INSIGHT 2019 in Las Vegas. As the first announcement shown at INSIGHT, I would like to introduce you to the new NetApp AFF A400 storage system. Yes, I already know what you are thinking now, “Yes, new hardware, more CPU, more SSDs, etc. Boooring!” As with… Read More »

NetApp Kubernetes Services On-Prem a first look

By | 30. August 2019

Some time ago, NetApp officially launched its Kubernetes Services (NKS). This makes it possible to quickly and easily deploy Kubernetes services to the cloud via a web interface. Don’t worry, this will not be another blog about NetApp’s “normal” Kubernetes services. Other people have already written their fingers sore on that topic. Today I’m going… Read More »

How to add storage capacity to a NetApp ONTAP Select 9.6 cluster

By | 24. June 2019

Hi all, last week I showed you how to install an ONTAP Select Cluster. Today, I want to show you how to add storage capacity to an existing ONTAP Select Cluster. Since NetApp ONTAP Select is Software Defined Storage (SDS), it goes without saying that you must, of course, have somehow installed physical hard drives… Read More »

NetApp presents new entry-level AFF C190.

By | 6. June 2019

NetApp today unveiled its new All Flash FAS C190 short AFF C190. The target group is customers who want to modernize their IT infrastructure with All Flash technology at an affordable price. NetApp states that the system will have the same price per GB as traditional systems with 10K SAS HDDs. However, with the advantage… Read More »

How to install a NetApp ONTAP Select 9.6

By | 21. May 2019

Hello together,today I want to show you how to roll out ONTAP Select in version 9.6 RC1 with the help of NetApps ONTAP DeployVM. In this video, I used an existing VMware environment based on NetApp HCI. Enjoy watching: DISCLAIMER: This post represents my personal observations and is not officially by NetApp or other authorized.… Read More »

Author Archives: DerSchmitz

About DerSchmitz

Senior Consultant und Blogger aus dem schönen Konstanz am Bodensee. Wenn ich nicht gerade in einem Rechenzentrum herumspringe, berate ich Kunden im IT Infrastruktur-Bereich. Das umfasst Storage, Server, Backup und Cloud-Einbindungen in IT Infrastrukturen. In meiner Freizeit sorge ich mich um meinen eigenen Garten, in dem ich mein eigenes Obst und Gemüse anbaue.

Wie eine NetApp Prüfung in Zeiten von Covid-19 entsteht

By | 2. Mai 2020

In Zeiten von Corona ändert sich einiges. Wurden früher die Subject Matter Experts (SMEs) in die Vereinigten Staaten eingeflogen, um eine Woche lang eine neue NetApp Zertifizierungs-Prüfung in einem Item Development Workshop (IDW) zu erstellen, so müssen wir diese Arbeit nun remote und virtuell leisten. Dieses Mal ging es um die neuen Prüfungsfragen für den… Read More »

NetApp INSIGHT: Direkt auf euren Bildschirm

By | 17. April 2020

Hallo zusammen, am kommenden Donnerstag, dem 23. April, gibt NetApp den Startschuss für ein digitales Event, das euch all das, was ihr an der INSIGHT liebt, direkt in euer Home-Office, in eure Küche oder auf euer Lieblingssofa bringt. Die Registrierung ist für alle kostenlos, also meldet euch heute noch an! Als Mitglied des NetApp A-Teams… Read More »

Ransomware Schutz für Dateien mit NetApp und CryptoSpike

By | 24. Januar 2020

Hallo zusammen, immer wieder sind Meldungen in der Presse zu lesen, dass Unternehmen oder Behörden einem Ransomware Befall haben oder durch Verschlüsselungs-Trojaner erpresst werden. In vielen Fällen bleiben aber Ransomware Attacken unter Verschluss, um einen Imageverlust des Unternehmens zu vermeiden. Unternehmen oder Behörden die auf eine „normale“ Backup Strategie setzen, (Einmal abends ein inkrementelles Backup,… Read More »

NetApp INSIGHT Las Vegas News: Was ist neu in ONTAP 9.7

By | 29. Oktober 2019

Hi und Hallo live von der NetApp INSIGHT 2019 in Las Vegas. NetApp hat heute einige weitere interessante Informationen über seine neue ONTAP 9.7 Datenmanagement-Software veröffentlicht. Verbesserungen der Benutzeroberfläche Zuallererst ein neues saubereres UI-Design. Einige der Verbesserungen, die wir bereits in ONTAP 9.6 als Vorschau sehen konnten scheinen jetzt endgültig da zu sein. Verbesserungen der… Read More »

NetApp INSIGHT Las Vegas News: Vorstellung NetApp AFF A400

By | 29. Oktober 2019

Hi Zusammen. Heute berichte ich für euch Live von der NetApp INSIGHT 2019 in Las Vegas. Als erste Neuerung die auf der INSIGHT gezeigt wurde möchte ich euch gerne die neue AFF A400 vorstellen. Ja ja ich weiß schon, was ihr jetzt denkt. „Ja neue Hardware, mehr CPU, mehr SSDs, etc. LAAANGWEILIG“ Wie schon bei… Read More »

NetApp Kubernetes Services On-Prem ein erster Blick

By | 30. August 2019

Vor einiger Zeit hat NetApp seine Kubernetes Services (NKS) offiziell vorgestellt. Dadurch ist es möglich über eine Weboberfläche, schnell und einfach Kubernetes Dienste in der Cloud bereitzustellen. Keine Angst dies wird kein weiterer Blog über die „normalen“ Kubernetes Services von NetApp. Da haben sich schon andere Leute die Finger wund geschrieben. Heute gehe ich einen… Read More »

Wie erweitere ich die Speicherkapazität bei NetApp ONTAP Select 9.6

By | 24. Juni 2019

Hi zusammen,letzte Woche habe ich euch gezeigt, wie man ein ONTAP Select Cluster installiert. Heute möchte ich euch zeigen, wie man Speicherkapazität zu einem bestehenden ONTAP Select Cluster hinzufügt. Da es sich bei NetApp ONTAP Select um ein Software defined Storage handelt, erklärt es sich von selbst, dass ihr im Vorfeld natürlich irgendwie physische Festplatten… Read More »

NetApp präsentiert neue Einsteiger AFF C190.

By | 6. Juni 2019

NetApp hat heute seine neue All Flash FAS C190 kurz AFF C190 vorgestellt. Zielgruppe sind Kunden, die ihre IT-Infrastruktur mit All Flash Technologie zu einem erschwinglichen Preis modernisieren wollen. Dabei gibt NetApp an, dass das System den gleichen Preis pro GB haben wird wie herkömmliche Systeme mit 10K SAS HDDs. Allerdings mit dem Vorteil eines… Read More »

Wie man ein NetApp ONTAP Select 9.6 installiert

By | 21. Mai 2019

Hallo zusammen,heute möchte ich euch zeigen, wie man mit Hilfe einer DeployVM NetApps ONTAP Select in der Version 9.6 RC1 ausrollt. In diesem Video habe ich eine bestehende VMware Umgebung auf Basis von NetApp HCI genutzt. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen: DISCLAIMER: Dieser Beitrag stellt meine persönlichen Beobachtungen dar und ist nicht offiziell durch NetApp oder… Read More »